Island County Commissioners Office

Mission Statement:

Quality Services for a Quality Life

Guiding Principles:

  • Provide for the long term health and safety of the people, the economy and our natural resources.
  • Assure customer service & promote operational excellence and efficiencies of Island County.
  • Promote active participation in government.
  • Fulfill our constitutional responsibilities, holding ourselves to a high standard of accountability, transparency, ethics and fairness.
  • Maintain agricultural & recreational opportunities while strengthening our economic vitality.


Island County's first Commissioners' meeting takes place in Coveland April 4, 1853.

On April 4, 1853, the first Island County Commissioners' meeting takes place in Coveland, the newly designated county seat, located on Penn's Cove northwest of Coupeville on Whidbey Island's east coast. The meeting is held at the home of Commissioner John Alexander. The other two commissioners attending are John Crockett and Samuel D. Howe.

Island County was one of four counties carved out of Thurston County by the Oregon Territorial Legislature. At the time, it included the future Island, San Juan, Whatcom, Skagit and Snohomish counties.

The first regular business for the Commission was a proposed road to Coveland from Ebey's Landing on the west side of the island. The board approved a petition for the road from Colonel Isaac N. Ebey (1818-1857) and 11 others. They appointed Ebey, Daniel Show, and Samuel Crockett to lay out the county road, as requested. They also appointed Hugh Crockett as sheriff.

The Board:

The Board of County Commissioners is the County's legislative and executive authority and is made up of three commissioners elected to four-year terms. The county is divided into three geographic districts based on population and at the time of election, each Commissioner must live in the district from which they are elected. The County Commissioners' positions are partisan and are nominated in a primary election embracing only their particular district. All voters in the county are given an opportunity in the general election to select the commissioner who will ultimately serve.

The Commissioners are charged with overseeing county operations; financial and budgetary matters; and the adoption of laws that regulate county growth, health, safety and welfare of it's citizens.

Board Meetings:

The Board of Island County Commissioners meets in regular open session the first four Tuesdays of every month at 10:00 a.m. and the fourth Tuesday beginning at 2:00 p.m. for roundtable discussion with elected county officials and appointed department heads.

Tuesday meetings are televised via a videoconferencing link to Island County's Camano Annex offices, 121 N. East Camano Drive south of Camano Plaza and Camaloch Golf Course. A public comment period is scheduled at 10:00 a.m. on the first four Tuesdays of each month.

The Board also meets regularly on the first three Wednesdays beginning at 9:00 a.m. for Staff Sessions with Department Heads and the third Tuesday of each month at 1:15 p.m. as the Island County Board of Health.

Meetings are held in the Commissioners Hearing Room located downstairs in the Courthouse Annex Building, Room #B102, at 1 NE 6th Street in Coupeville, Washington.

How to contact us:


Administation Bldg
1 NE 7th Street, Room 214
Coupeville, WA 98239-5000


Office: (360) 679-7354
Fax: (360) 679-7381
Camano: (360) 629-4522 x7354
South Whidbey: (360) 321-5111 x7354
Camano Island Courthouse Annex:
360-387-3443, Ext. 0

Mailing Address:

PO BOX 5000
Coupeville WA 98239-5000

Office Hours:

9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Monday through Friday