Nationwide Inmate Records Online Check

Jail records, court & arrest records, mugshots and even judicial reports

Island County Commissioners Office

Mission Statement

Island County’s mission statement is “Quality Services for a Quality Life,” which reflects its commitment to provide high-quality services to the community. The county is guided by several principles, including ensuring the long-term health and safety of its people, economy, and natural resources. It also places a high emphasis on customer service and promoting operational excellence and efficiencies.

Active participation in government is encouraged in Island County, and the county officials are held accountable to a high standard of transparency, ethics, and fairness. While maintaining agricultural and recreational opportunities, the county strives to strengthen its economic vitality.

Historical Note

Island County’s history dates back to April 4, 1853, when the first Island County Commissioners’ meeting was held in Coveland, the newly designated county seat. The county was established by the Oregon Territorial Legislature and originally included the future Island, San Juan, Whatcom, Skagit, and Snohomish counties.

The Board of Commissioners

The Board of Commissioners is Island County’s legislative and executive authority, consisting of three commissioners who are elected to four-year terms. The county is divided into three geographic districts based on population, and each commissioner must reside in the district from which they are elected. The commissioners oversee county operations, financial and budgetary matters, and the adoption of laws that regulate county growth, health, safety, and welfare.

Board meetings are held on the first four Tuesdays of every month and the fourth Tuesday for roundtable discussions with elected county officials and appointed department heads. The meetings are held in the Commissioners’ Hearing Room located downstairs in the Courthouse Annex Building in Coupeville, Washington. The Tuesday meetings are televised via a videoconferencing link to Island County’s Camano Administrative Building, and a public comment period is scheduled at 10 a.m. on the first four Tuesdays of each month. The commissioners also meet on the first three Wednesdays of each month for work sessions with elected officials and appointed department heads and as the Island County Board of Health on the third Tuesday of each month at 1 p.m.

Island County welcomes public participation in its meetings and provides several options for public comment. Written comments can be submitted via email, and oral comments can be made during the public comment period of the meetings.


Location :

Phone Numbers:

Mailing  Address:

Office Hours: